HIGHEST PEAK.

The Highest Peak of Love is self sacrifice.  – Ruthsgirl99

John 15:13

To be honest, I just recently realized what sacrifice really meant.  I have always perceived it as a hard decision of giving away what you want as punishment. I never really thought that it could be sacrificial decisions I could make personally to better others …because that meant being uncomfortable and I knew God was going to stretch me.

It wasn’t until one day when I was drinking coffee and looking into one of my dearest friends eyes. My heart longed to open up to her but doubt flooded my head as I thought of what she would think of me if I told her about my recent decisions.  She was going through a tough time and I knew the Holy Spirit was prompting me to let her see this side of me, but my shield was up high and glued to my hand.

” Why are you acting like this Sadie? Do you not tell your Junior High Girls to be vulnerable when you meet? Because there is no judgment and only growth when you listen to their hearts?  Trust me and do the same with your best friend, it is for her benefit.”  -God

I froze.

My heart began to race as my mouth spoke words that I never wished to say aloud.  As I spoke, my fears faded away and passion filled my veins. Her heart was receptive and my heart was healed.  The true meaning of sacrifice was brought fourth that evening, over a cup of Joe and a few sentences…WHO KNEW;)  God did!!

I now look for areas of life where I can sacrifice myself for the benefit of others. It is not a punishment, it is a freedom. Glory be to God!

John 15:13- “THE GREATEST LOVE YOU CAN HAVE FOR YOUR FRIENDS IS TO GIVE YOUR LIFE FOR THEM.” 

 

Leave a Reply

